



## **MEDIA RELEASE**

AUGUST 2024



## **CALLEEN ART AWARD 2024 - FINALISTS ANNOUNCED**

The Cowra Regional Art Gallery is pleased to announce the finalists of the Calleen Art Award 2024 acquisitive national painting prize worth \$30,000. The Calleen Art Award encourages originality, creativity and excellence in the visual arts.

The Calleen Art Award was founded in 1977 by Cowra Art Patron Mrs Patricia Fagan OAM and is made possible with the generous support of the Calleen Trust. The Calleen Art Award finalists' exhibition at the Cowra Regional Art Gallery is a signature art event in the central west region of NSW.

This year the Gallery received 254 entries with 48 works being selected as finalists by the selection panel of art professionals. The selected artworks consist of a diverse range of visually compelling and thought provoking paintings. The winning work will join the Calleen Collection housed at the Cowra Regional Art Gallery and visitors to the Calleen Art Award exhibition of finalists can vote in the People's Choice Award. This will be announced at the end of the exhibition.

The opening night and announcement of the winner of the Calleen Art Award 2024 is on Friday 27 September 2024 from 6.30pm for 7pm and promises to be a memorable and enjoyable event. The Calleen Art Award 2024 judge is Mr Richard Perram OAM, Curator and previous Director Bathurst Regional Gallery

Exhibition dates: 28 September to 19 November 2024 at the Cowra Regional Art Gallery, 77 Darling Street, Cowra. Open: Tues – Sat, 10am – 4pm and Sun 10am – 2pm. Admission free.

## **CALLEEN ART AWARD 2024 FINALISTS**

Alyssa Aleksanian Melissa Guest Penelope Oates
Tim Allen Geoff Harvey Lucy O'Doherty

Susan Baird Michelle Henry Amanda Penrose Hart

Katie Barron Greg Hill Lori Pensini

Anthony Bartok Margaret Hogan Sally Robinson

Andrew Baylor David Isbester Michael Simms

Lee Bethel Nicole Kelly Todd Simpson

Kate Briscoe Graham Lupp Joanne Sisson

Anthony Cahill Angela Malone Gary Smith

Spencer Calveley Nicola Mason Fiona Somerville
Ham Darroch Kerry McInnis Brenda Stace Chat
Rachel Ellis Lisa McKimmie Neridah Stockley

Julia FlanaganPeta MinniciZena VixAnne-France FulgenceTully MooreGuan Wei

Joanna Gambotto Ingrid Morley Madeleine Winch

Tim Gregory Anh Nguyen Tim Winter

## ...Ends

For more information contact Brian Langer, Gallery Director, Cowra Regional Art Gallery on 0429072282 or email <a href="mailto:blanger@cowra.nsw.gov.au">blanger@cowra.nsw.gov.au</a>