Festival of International Understanding

A unique event celebrating our diversity

Sponsors - logos combined - Website - 250321We hope everyone enjoyed the 2021 Cowra Festival of International Understanding with our Guest Nation - New Zealand!

Check out all the action from the 2021 Festival on the Cowra Festival Facebook page.

The Festival originated in the mid-1960s at a time when the town was coming to recognise the benefits of promoting understanding between nations. It is a credit to the local community — and recognition of their support for this first event — that the Festival immediately grabbed the public's attention.Cowra Festival of International Understanding (originally the Festival of the Lachlan Valley) is a community-based event focusing on Cowra's unique place as the home of reconciliation. Proudly hosting Australia's World Peace Bell — this honour derived from Cowra's first-hand experience of war with the POW Breakout of Japanese prisoners in 1944.

This annual Festival was first conceived in 1964 as Cowra Shire approached the 150th anniversary of Surveyor George William Evans' exploration of the Lachlan River in May 1815. It was suggested that some form of celebration be held to mark this historic occasion.

A committee was subsequently formed to organise a celebration — "Cowra's Festival of the Lachlan Valley" — after a community competition had been held to name the event. Theme of the first Festival was the historical importance to the town and district of the first European exploration of the Lachlan Valley; and included a full-week of celebrations in April 1965. As a special guest, New Zealand's High Commissioner performed the official opening with more than £5400 ($10,800) raised from the inaugural Festival which was donated towards development of the Wyangala Waters foreshores area.

Following this success; it was decided to hold this unique celebration annually with the idea of featuring a guest nation strongly-supported. The theme of "International Understanding" was also embraced at this time and — because of our unique historical links — Japan was invited to be the first Guest Nation. Succeeding years have seen a number of variations and additions to the Festival but the basic format and aim of the event has remained constant.

With Cowra bestowed world recognition as the site of Australia's replica of the World Peace Bell in 1992, the celebration's name was changed to the "Festival of International Understanding"; an alteration that also incorporated the Festival's main theme that all the peoples of the world are one.

A Guest Nation has subsequently featured and been celebrated at each Festival; with the exception of 2002 which focused on Cowra's cultural diversity and 2014 which featured the United Nations.

The Festival continues to be a major event in the Cowra Shire calendar and plays a significant role in building a sense of pride and identity in the Cowra Community.

In 1999, a book about the Festival of International Understanding was produced by former Cowra Council Shire President Cyril Treasure that tells, through programs and newspaper articles, the Festival's history for its first 33-years.

The Festival of International Understanding celebrated the 50th Anniversary in 2014 with the United Nations Information Centre in Australia the special guest in recognition of this world-body's international focus.

Guest Nations

1965 New Zealand

1966 Japan

1967 India

1968 Malaysia

1969 Italy

1970 Great Britain

1971 United States of America

1972 Indonesia

1973 Federal Republic of Germany

1974 Thailand

1975 Netherlands

1976 Mexico

1977 Iran

1978 Fiji

1979 Greece

1980 France

1981 China

1982 Brazil

1983 Sweden

1984 The Philippines

1985 Spain

1986 Canada

1987 USSR

1988 Australia

1989 Peru

1990 Austria

1991 Egypt

1992 Ireland

1993 Western Samoa

1994 New Zealand

1995 Zimbabwe

1996 Papua New Guinea

1997 Belgium

1998 Israel

1999 Denmark

2000 Argentina

2001 Romania

2002 Celebrating Cowra's Cultural Diversity

2003 Vietnam

2004 Slovakia

2005 Malta

2006 Poland

2007 South Africa

2008 Chile

2009 Portugal

2010 Hungary

2011 Turkey

2012 Finland

2013 Sri Lanka

2014 United Nations

2015 Republic of Korea

2016 Kingdom of Tonga 

2017 Belarus

2018 Nepal

2019 Japan

2020 Cancelled

2021 New Zealand